Wanstead Patchwork: Part XVII (Wryneck)

In my blog post earlier today, I mentioned that we were waiting and hoping for a Wryneck on the patch. Soon after I posted, I got the message through that Bob and Nick had found one in the brooms on the Wanstead Flats.

Soon after I arrived, there were four, then five, then six, then eight birders looking for the Wryneck.

Wryneck hunting

Wryneck hunting

It was there in the brooms and kept us all guessing as it flew between bushes. I was lucky in getting some great, but short, views, but failed to get any photos of it.

That was until right at the end, when most of the guys had left and I just lingered a bit longer (bear in mind, for everyone else this was a patch year tick, for me it was a UK and patch tick). I walked one more time around the broom bushes where we had last seen it and I flushed it up into the hawthorn where Bob had first seen it. A few minutes later I got a couple of quick snaps of it in the small oak right next to the aforementioned hawthorn. The light was fading and the quality was poor, but I believe this is the first photo taken of a Wryneck on the patch in 2015 (the fourth in six years) and possibly the second individual found this year in London. I am very happy.

Eurasian Wryneck (Jynx torquilla)

Eurasian Wryneck (Jynx torquilla)

2 thoughts on “Wanstead Patchwork: Part XVII (Wryneck)

Leave a Reply

